Liverpool Football Club Season 2011-12 – a wish or two!

“All we want from you are the kicks you’ve given us”

Motorcycle Emptiness, The Manic Street Preachers

What does a Liverpool fan wish for this season? If my wishes sound as outrageous or unrealistic as a kids “Dear Santa this is what I want for Christmas” list then apologies I’ve just got carrying away. Equally cries of “you should wish us to win every competition we enter” and “Luis Suarez to get a hat trick in every game” will not be entertained, you need to be realistic, to draw a steady line between pragmatism and wishful thinking. It’s a difficult task as emotional gets in the way (doesn’t it always?) but here goes.

In no particular order…………..

I wish for a quiet time. A time when the only news is about our results and performances on the pitch not greedy, bumptious, narcissistic, overbearing, over weight and over here Americans be they in the past or in the present.

I wish for some consistency, a degree of predictability. By all means beat The Mancs, Chelsea or Manchester City with eight men and biased referee but can we also beat the likes of Wolves, Blackburn Wigan, West Brom and at least one or two of the promoted teams? I want the expectation of three points to be three points!

I wish for some grit, some steel. All too often we were out muscled or our fought by teams last season (Stoke, Blackburn, West Ham). When things get rough hit them back (legally of course) get the bayonets out, dig in and if we do get beat, at least go down fighting.

I wish for a good domestic cup run. We haven’t been to new Wembley yet, it will be cr*p but I even miss the overpriced poor quality food and sh*t beer! We are not in Europe now so what’s the excuse for not treating these competitions seriously?

I wish Steven Gerrard an injury free run save picking up a “niggle” when he’s due to play for England! I’d like to see and more swashbuckling, heroic crusades. Perhaps Jordan Henderson could be Robin to his Batman? Let’s see Gerrard and Dalglish in tandem. It is only right that to of the clubs greatest players of their respective generation link up and drive us on.

I wish upon a star – more of Luis Suarez’s twists and turns, more defenders being bamboozled. I can’t wait to see more of him. My abiding memory, perhaps my best memory, on the pitch last season was not a goal but the Suarez move against the Mancs that took on most of their defence and then, seemingly, did it again before the ball broke to Dirk to stab home from three inches!

I wish for…. Kelly, Robinson, Spearing, Flanagan , Sterling and the rest. In the words of Whitney Houston…. “I believe the children are our are future. Teach them well and let them lead the way. Show them all the beauty they possess inside. Give them a sense of pride to make it easier….” OK, I know, sorry (very sorry), (very, very sorry) but you get the point!

I wish that we could attach a chain from Jose Reina’s post to Glen Johnson’s ankle that only extends as far as the half way line. Other wise let him be free from his defensive misery and allow to frolic free and untrammelled in lush, green pastures of our midfield!

I wish for Lucas’ rehabilitation the eyes of the fans to continue. Player of the Year last season and no one more deserving given the flack he has taken and the way he has kept his head down, not complained and quietly worked hard to win his critics over.. an example.

I wish for Daniel Agger and Fabio Aurelio to overcome the chronic claustrophobia that sees them constantly in the treatment room. Get some fresh air ie. on the pitch.

I wish for Dirk Kuyt batteries to keep going on and on and on and on and on and on ………

Wish you were here? Hopefully I won’t be saying that about Alberto Aquilani?

I wish for a move be it across to Stanley Park or to somewhere else in the stadium while they renovate the old lady.

I wish for Kenny to conclude whatever he feels is his unfinished business with the club is. If he does I’m sure we will be happy?

I wish for a Dalglish smile in May be it at Wembley or may be at Swansea (check the fixture list)?

Above all I wish for my club to make me proud. I want to be entertained by good football and by performances and players who are as committed as the fans.

Last, but foremost, I wish the team, Kenny and his staff good luck against Sunderland today and for the rest of the season.

Go for it!

Walk on

PS: Prediction Liverpool 2 Sunderland 1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

