Stevie’s words of frustration whilst Hicks goes on and on and on…..

Apologies for recent inactivity, the internet at home has been on the blink, and it’s been too busy at work to get any sneaky typing in!

I suspect Steven Gerrard’s comments a few days ago about the season to date didn’t really say anything that most Liverpool fans weren’t already thinking. Speaking to the club magazine he said…

“I’m pretty gutted every time I look at the table and see the gap between us and Arsenal at the top, and even the gap between us and second and third. We believed we had the players to challenge for the title, and we wanted that one more than any other trophy available. I still believe we have the squad to be a hell of a lot more competitive than we are now.”

No one would disagree with the disappointment bit even Rafa, though his statements about our league chances at times this season have boardered on denial, concurred with Gerrard the day after. I don’t think anything is to be gained by picking over what has gone wrong the season at this stage. That is an operation, or should it be post mortem, that should take place in May. However, the other day I was idly playing “what if” with the matches we’d drawn at home. The “what if” bit being “what if we’d got the result we would be expected to get”. Add in the extra points and look at where we would be in the chase and it’s not so much disappointing as frustrating!

Perhaps it’s more worrying that Gerrard’s words point to an undercurrent of exasperation on his part. By my reckoning the title is the only major trophy he hasn’t won so it must be frustrating to see this elude him for yet another season.

“I’m getting tired of saying the same thing over and over again. We can’t keep talking about next season all the time. We need to make people believe it. I’m 27 now, I don’t want to be talking about ‘next season’ for Liverpool when I’m 32.”

Gerrard will be 28 next season, the supposed peak of a footballers career, a move perhaps if we don’t deliver the Championship again?

At present it would not be a surprise if Gerrard was drawing his pension by the time all the speculation about the ownership of the club halts. Hicks continues to play cat and mouse with the media and presumably DIC issuing statements about his future. This time basically confirming that rumours of a tiff with Gillett have reached the point of one of them wanting “out”…..

“Not only am I not going to sell, my partner cannot sell without my approval. So I kind of have the ability to determine the outcome of what is going to happen, and I am right in the middle of that. For a lot of reasons I can’t discuss, I haven’t been able to fix it yet. But I am preparing to be in a position to fix it.”

Confused? What does he mean? I just wish he’d “quit talking” do whatever he’s going to do. My hunch, is that he is ready to go but at a price. As a result the talk is designed to encourage DIC into increasing their offer. I’m tired of his constant blathering. When is Hicks going to realise that everytime he opens his mouth it is another nail in the “relationship” with the fans. DIC are no saints but, as I’ve said before, it is worrying that a man who seemingly doesn’t have the nous to grasp this basic fact is in charge of our club. What can you do? He’s like a someone you end up being stuck with on a night out or school trip who you don’t like, or want be around, but won’t take the hint and, to put it politely, go away or at least fade away into the background!

Back to tomorrow with a review of the Bolton game in the meantime, enjoy your Saturday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

